Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

about external pll in lvds_rx and lvds_tx

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i am new to lvds mega in quartus . i wanna know that what is the difference between using internal pll and external pll,since there is an option in the lvds_tx, lvds_rx general pannel. which kind configuration is easier and more stable? and my device is ep2c35. 

thanks ! 

yu.p
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

i am new to lvds mega in quartus . i wanna know that what is the difference between using internal pll and external pll,since there is an option in the lvds_tx, lvds_rx general pannel. which kind configuration is easier and more stable? and my device is ep2c35. 

thanks ! 

yu.p 

--- Quote End ---  

Use the internal PLL unless you need to dynamically controller the PLL parameters. The default configuration takes care of the timing analysis constraints. 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Use the internal PLL unless you need to dynamically controller the PLL parameters. The default configuration takes care of the timing analysis constraints. 

Cheers, 

Dave 

--- Quote End ---  

Thanks dave!Our board have been made that the inclk ports are not drawn out. So i cann't use the internal pll of the lvds mega, and the internal pll of lvds mega needs a inlck to feed the pll. 

I will try the external pll . 

Thanks ! 

yu.p
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Our board have been made that the inclk ports are not drawn out. So i cann't use the internal pll of the lvds mega, and the internal pll of lvds mega needs a inlck to feed the pll. 

I will try the external pll . 

--- Quote End ---