Rapid Storage Technology
Intel® RST, RAID
2047 Discussions

VROC: ASUS Hyper m.2 / which key?

MKowa18
Beginner

Hi, I just bought I7 9800x and x299 board from Asus and the Asus Hyper m.2 card because I like Intel's CPUS. I have been using Intel for 25 years now.... I need this setup because I need solution for raid 0 - my work. I also have 2 ssds from my last PC build samsung 970 evo 1tb. This whole setup already cost me a lot of pennys... Now i foundout that I have to purchase anothore thing wich is VROC dongle.... And the worst part is that I don't have warranty to have my RAID 0 work?

To be clear I did get workable RAID 0 somehow on Intel VROC software under windows but it says that this is 90 days trial...? ARE YOU SERIOUS? Regarding that this whole x299 VROC situation that I read on the internet is some shifty nifty ridiqules game (also lost a whole day to get this 90 day trial RAID working) I want to know what kind of dongle do I need to purche to get my RAID stay out of trial period?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
JosafathB_Intel

Hello MKowa18,

Thank you for your reply.

Intel® VROC is targeted as an enterprise product, mainly for Servers and Workstations. Also, per the details found in the “Intel® VROC Support on X299 FAQ,” Intel® VROC was enabled on X299 client platforms (see below). This initial decision was made at the time of launch in 2017. Since then, it has become apparent that Intel® RST (and not Intel® VROC) is the better product to support SSD RAID on X299 platforms, partly because of Intel® RST availability, broad SSD support and no need for an extra HW key. Intel® RST is free and it supports Intel® as well as NON-Intel® storage devices.