Server Products
Data Center Products including boards, integrated systems, Intel® Xeon® Processors, RAID Storage, and Intel® Xeon® Processors
4778 Discussions

MATRIX RAID 5 ON S3200H REBUILD RESTARTS AT 70%

COjse
Beginner

I am new to this problem. Sure hope there is help out there :-). I hope I picked the correct forum.....

Server with S3200H M/B running 5 identical SATA 1.5GIG drives in RAID 5 sliced into two volumes. One is 1TB (bootable) and the other is just over 4.4TB. The OS is Server 2008 R2 CORE and the box is a Hyper V host. The OS resides on the 1TB volume.

This RAID 5 array has worked flawlessly for 4 years. Never an issue replacing several failed drives over the years. Recently, I lost a drive on port 0. Swapped in a new identical replacement and accessed the RAID setup using CTRL-I. Selected the new drive and started the rebuild. Booted into the OS, my Hyper V clients loaded and all seemed well. It usually takes 5 to 6 days to rebuild. I am able to check status using Intel's RAID command line utility by RDPing into the box via 2008 R2 Core.

After 30 hours, volume 1 (1TB) was rebuilt and the status changed to "NORMAL" After about 4 days, volume 2 reached 70% of the rebuild ... and that is when the fun started. Sometime after it hit 70% the rebuild percentage changed/jumped back to 0% and we started all over again. Using the command "RAIDCFG32 /ST" I am able to see that all 5 drives are good "members" (and green) ... no drives missing (except now the original bad/missing drive no longer shows up). The second volume continues to say "updating" and volume 1 "normal". I rebooted the box, checked the RAID array using CTRL-I and all looks like it should... except that volume 2 continues to rebuild/update. This has happened twice now... and we are into the 3rd "restart" back to 0%. This is like the movie Groundhog Day!