Server Products
Data Center Products including boards, integrated systems, Intel® Xeon® Processors, RAID Storage, and Intel® Xeon® Processors
4778 Discussions

S5520hct Memory Questions

JCove2
Beginner

Hello, I am very new to server type motherboards and I have a couple questions if anyone would be gracious enough to help.

I am setting up a home server with MyMovies and this is the issue;

I am installing Windows Server 2012 Essentials and would like to be able to use the max recognized by this version, which is 64gb, Right now I have 8gb dimms in 3 slots of each side (48 gb) and its even, also I am running 2, X5680's, Can I install a extra 8gb in one of the slots on each side to make it 64 gb?, or will that throw the channels off?

Not exactly sure if this is running in triple channel or double, and thought that maybe one channel being different would mess up the throughput. Also am I correct in thinking that all the sticks of memory should be of the same size?, Not mixing 4gbs and 8gbs, but use all the same size? This stated thinking that maybe I could use 4gbs in all of the extra slots and make them all even on both sides.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

John C.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello John,

Regarding your question, "upgrading your memory configuration from current 48GB, distributed on 24GB for each processor (3 Dimms – A1, B1, C1, D1, E1 and F1)".

Best setup for your request will be to configure A1, A2, B1and B2 for CPU 1 and D1, D2, E1 and E2. This will enable 2 channels per CPU.

To best help you with your setup, let me share with you the http://www.intel.com/content/dam/support/us/en/documents/motherboards/server/s5520hc/sb/e39529013_s5520hc_s5500hcv_s5520hct_tps_r19.pdf Technical Product Specification for the motherboard. You can check the motherboard layout on page 126 and the memory configuration on page 145

If there is anything else we can help please feel free to ask.

Best regards,

Henry A.
0 Kudos
JCove2
Beginner
0 Kudos