Server Products
Data Center Products including boards, integrated systems, Intel® Xeon® Processors, RAID Storage, and Intel® Xeon® Processors
4761 Discussions

Server not recognizing Intel Xeon Phi Coprocessor 7120P

Vikrant1
Novice

Hello everyone,

I'm a PhD student and have 2 Xeon Phi 7120P Coprocessor which i want to use for computations. However, I'm facing problem in getting the 7120P coprocessor to be recognized by my server.

My server is a Huawei RH2288 V2-8S with 2 x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 0 @ 2.70GHz. The board details are below.

The card got detected once in CentOS 7 when i manually set the PCIe mode to Gen1 (dont know why), but once i rebooted the server, the card was gone. After that i tried several settings for PCIe (Auto/Gen1/Gen2/Gen3) but it simply doesn't detect the card. The blue light keeps blinking when the server is ON but it doesn't show in lspci.

After that i even tried different OS like windows server 2019, Ubuntu, CentOS8 but it simply doesn't show the card.

To check the card, i installed it in a Dell Precision Tower 5810 with Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1620 v3 @ 3.50GHz and Dell baseboard 0K240Y and Intel chipset Haswell-E X99. First the pc did not boot but then i went in bios and set PCIe to Gen2 and it detected the 7120P coprocessor but after that when i tried to install the card, it would not respond. I noticed that the card was getting a bit hot in Dell system because 7120P does not have any cooling fan and can be used only in a server with active cooling. But the problem is server doesn't detect it.

Any help would be really appreciated.

My email is VS00350@surrey.ac.uk

Vikrant1_0-1605704845145.png

Vikrant1_1-1605705308952.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution
JoseH_Intel

Hello Vikrant1,