Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

RealSense R200 testing in Linux attempting to use librealsense and opencv

Lesly_Z_
Beginner

hey everyone!

I am new to RealSense tech and I am working now with the R200 in Ubuntu. I had already tested the examples from librealsense but now I want to use the data obtained by the camera and process it using opencv. I found a tutorial about translating from realsense to opencv, but it uses :

PXCImage *pxcImg
PXCImage::ImageData data;
PXCImage::ImageInfo imgInfo
PXCSenseManager *psm

which seem not to be recognized by "librealsense" for Linux.

I would appreciate your collaboration/ideas/clues for this.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
samontab
Valued Contributor II

You only need to get the raw data from the frame, then you can just create an OpenCV mat object with it.

This should get you started:

First get the raw data

const uint8_t * infrared_frame = reinterpret_cast<const uint8_t *>(dev->get_frame_data(rs::stream::infrared));

And now you can create an OpenCV image with it:

cv::Mat infrared = cv::Mat(480, 640, CV_8UC1, (void*)infrared_frame);

0 Kudos
Lesly_Z_
Beginner

@samontab thanks for the reply!

I also found another example with:

cv::Mat rgb(480, 640, CV_8UC3, (uchar *) dev->get_frame_data(rs::stream::color));

cv::Mat depth16(480, 640, CV_16UC1, (uchar *) dev->get_frame_data(rs::stream::depth));

which seems to work pretty well, but I am a bit surprised for the image quality I got with RGB and DEPTH.  Any way to improve it?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
samontab
Valued Contributor II

No worries.

Depending on the format and the stream you want to convert, you shall use the corresponding OpenCV mat parameters.

What do you mean by being surprised by the image quality?, is it not being correctly converted? If that's the case, consider also including the image step in the OpenCV mat constructor. Image step is called pitch in RealSense jargon by the way.