Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Why the base index of array is zero in c language?

Find_N_
Beginner

I was trying to work with array in c language and wondered that the base index of array does not start with other than zero like it doesn’t start with 1, 2, 3.. I just want to know the concept behind.

“Why the base index of array is zero in c language” As I am a beginner in c programming language and I have more doubts about C issues, I will definitely post  and look for more c programming questions and answers in this community forum. Hope I will get genuine replies to my programming query.

0 Kudos
1 Reply
Akhil_R_
Beginner

Array indices should start at 0. This is not just an efficiency hack for ancient computers, or a reflection of the underlying memory model, or some other kind of historical accident—forget all of that. Zero-based indexing actually simplifies array-related math for the programmer, and simpler math leads to fewer bugs. Here are some examples.

• Suppose you’re writing a hash table that maps each integer key to one of 
    n
    buckets. If your array of buckets is indexed starting at 0, you can write 
    bucket = key mod n
    ; but if it’s indexed starting at 1, you have to write 
    bucket = (key mod n) + 1
  • Suppose you’re writing code to serialize a rectangular array of pixels, with width 
    w
     and height 
    h
    , to a file (which we’ll think of as a one-dimensional array of length 
    w*h
    ). With 0-indexed arrays, pixel (
    x
    y
    ) goes into position 
    y*w + x
    ; with 1-indexed arrays, pixel (
    x
    y
    ) goes into position 
    y*w + x - w
  • Suppose you want to put the letters 
    ‘A’
     through 
    ‘Z’
     into an array of length 26, and you have a function 
    ord
     that maps a character to its ASCII value. With 0-indexed arrays, the character 
    c
     is put at index 
    ord(c) - ord(‘A’)
    ; with 1-indexed arrays, it’s put at index