Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

academic application - small field of view

toufic_a_
Beginner

Hello, complete beginner and new to this field. No idea about hardware or software.

I work on particles, usually connect a normal C-mount camera onto a lens or objective to observe let's say 1 x 1 mm, at high resolution (a few micrometer per pixel (as defined by camera and lenses). If I can see objects as small as 10-15 micrometers that is still ok!

Anyway, to make it easier to identify objects/particles in the field of view, and distinguish them in different depth of fields, I was wondering how can I apply such technology like the RealSense.

Any ideas, modifications that can be made, collaborations to setup, suggestions, please help!!

HNY!!!!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Andradige_S_Intel

It's not clear from your description, are you trying to make a depth map of particles? do you want to use the color camera as well. If you are planning on using a lense to magnify particles, keep in mind that RS cameras use IR rays to derive depth.

0 Kudos
toufic_a_
Beginner

sorry for delay, HNY!

Yes trying to distinguish particles in solution as there will be too many, specially if transparent crystals, then brightness will be mostly similar. Though this technique will help. But not sure how small it can be adapted (smallest field of view possible).... talking 1x1 mm or bit more is ok.

I can imaging three cameras including IR won't fit into a microscope objective, ha... Usually we can easily use one C-mount camera with 1/2, 2/3 or 1 inch sensor...

0 Kudos
samontab
Valued Contributor II

Have a look at this post to understand how this technology works:

https://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/realsense/topic/537872

0 Kudos
toufic_a_
Beginner