Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

How could I read msr BUS_TRANS_MEM, Windows

G__T
Beginner

Hello,

I have been reading quite a lot of the intel documentations and this forum but I am quite stuck.

As a side small personal project I need to check the BUS_TRANS_MEM counter. I am currently running on a skylake proc.

I am very new to this kind of things but I have a small driver ready, can read core temps (for testing) through rdmsr but when it came to  BUS_TRANS_MEM I understood it was more complex.

So I jumped to the WinDbg and tried in a first step to determine how to find the desired msr address and I can't seem to determine it.

1. Depending on the doc I find eventsel 0x6f and the umask either being 0x40 / 0xE0 (all agends) , either 0xc0 in another doc.

2. It seems I have to compute these info with IA32_QM_EVTSEL but I really can't find the link between. Looks like I have to use a counter register (0x700 ?) to set up my counting on BUS_TRANS_MEM ?

So far I came with something like :

wrmsr 0xE01 0x0
wrmsr 0x700 0x50E06f (Why 0x50 ?)
wrmsr 0xE01 0x2000000f
wrmsr 0xE01 0x0
rdmsr 0x706

But it doesn't seem to be that at all ; I am a bit lost.

In the end my question is 'quite simple'. What is the way to access the memory bus transaction counter ?

Thanks for reading my issue :-)

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Thomas_G_4
New Contributor II

I don't know which documentation you checked but I cannot find an event BUS_TRANS_MEM for hardware performance monitoring. Neither in the Intel SDM (January 2019) nor in the JSON document at https://download.01.org/perfmon/SKL/ (nor in the Skylake SP JSON documents). So, they are no hardware performance events.