cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ACHI Enabled?

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Hi, I'm new to the SSD scene and I have a few quetions I hope people here can help with.

I know you need to have ACHI enabled in the BIOS, but as I understand it, RAID automatically has ACHI enabled, and since I wanted a RAID drive as my second drive, I set it to RAID.

In WIndows 7, the SSD appears to be fine, running very fast. However, in device manager, under 'IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers' it lists only the following:

ATA Channel 0

ATA Channel 1

Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller

Through reading these forums, I am under the impression that an ACHI driver should be mentioned under here somewhere.

Under 'Storage Controllers' the following is displayed:

Intel(R) ICH8R/ICH9R/ICH10R/DO/5 Series/3400 Series SATA RAID Controller

I have installed the Intel Rapid Storage Tech software, but still ACHI is not mentioned.

Have I missed something here? Should I have not set the bios to RAID? Is there a driver I am missing? or is everything correct and I'm being a little paranoid?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers!

Using 80GB X25-M in Windows 7 on a Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 motherboard.

Message was edited by: Skyphox

6 REPLIES 6

DZand
Contributor III

Skyphox schrieb:

I am just interested in knowing if the single drive would get a speed boost if I switched to AHCI only. I'm getting the impression that speed wise, a single drive in AHCI or RAID mode will run exactly the same speed in both.

It really doesn't make much sense to have a RAID0 outside the SSD and its system partition. So it would be better to run the Intel SATA Controllers in AHCI Mode.

If you want a system with the best possible performance, you should buy a second SSD and create a RAID0 array with both SSD's. I am very optimistic, that we will get Trim support in the near future even with SSD's being within an Intel RAID array.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III