cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intel 750 SSD Wear Leveling Very High despite little use

AVill15
New Contributor

I have been using this Intel 750 Series PCI-e 400GB drive since December 9th 2015. It has been slightly over 2 months.

I bought it brand new and I am the only person who ever uses this computer, and I know what kind of tasks the computer is doing.

The Intel SSD Toolbox is reading 83% Wear Leveling Indicator, meaning I have used up 17% of my drive life in only 2 months. How is this possible?

Using another tool (AIDA64 extreme 5.60.3700) = which is one of the only tools i've found that can properly interpret the SMART attributes, shows me having 1.42TB Read and 10.43TB Written. (And 73 power-on-days aka 1767 hours). These numbers make sense and match with my idea of my actual usage... since I use this as my OS Drive (Windows 10) and I have 270GB free out of 372GB (and that has not changed +/-2gb for the past 2 months). My computer has not been storing large files or doing anything intensive or abnormal.

I can't think of any plausible reason why I would be down to 83% Wear leveling. I checked multiple things: My partition is 4KB Aligned, my OS TRIM functionality is enabled (fsutil), I am using the latest firmware (Since I got it), and I'm using the Intel's own NVME driver (not windows's one).

I also checked with several people online who have the same drive, and their drives are showing 99%, and they use their drives more heavily than I do.

[18:45:57] my 750 has 16tb written and 99% health

This person has the 800GB model and he is using the same AIDA64 to read the info. I checked in the datasheet that these drives all have the same endurance rating of 127 TBW,

Even if you try and calculate manually, 10.43 TB written so far, out of 127 TBW lifetime = 0.082125 aka 8.2%, So that would really be 91.8%, not 83%........ So even that doesn't make sense.