cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intel x25m 80gb gen2, disable superfetch and prefetch?

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Hi I just bought my intel x25m 80gb gen 2 ssd yesterday. I am new to the ssd game and was just wondering if I have to disable superfetch and prefetch in win 7 as I noticed they are enabled. I am also using the default microsoft ahci driver so trim will work if that helps, Thanks.

10 REPLIES 10

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Maybe they are active by default on your system, but normally (when a fast enough SSD is detected) they are disabled by Win 7 by default.

The superfetch service is set to manual on my system and that means the service will not start on boot.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

You may have read they are supposed to be disabled, but many users report they are not disabled, and I am one of them with three Intel G2 SSD. The problem is Windows 7.

Superfetch is set to Automatic on all three of my SSD's.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

As I said earlier, I don't have this problem. The Superfetch service was set to manual during install of Win 7.

BTW: you can easily check whether prefetch or superfetch is enabled by looking at the taskmanager after (re)boot. On my system Win 7 x64 doesn't preload all the stuff Vista x64 does on the same system (I have a triple boot system with Vista installed on a Velociraptor 300GB). Vista is preloading about 3-4 GB average (I have 8GB RAM). Win 7 only loads (caches) the necessary system files which is only a couple of hundred MB.