cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SSDs on DX79SR w/i7 3960 Booting with Marvell Controller

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

I'm a professional photographer and retoucher and I'm looking to build the best Photoshop machine I can. I may spend 6 to 10 hours a day on the computer moving files from Lightroom to Photoshop major retouching to storage. The return on investment is worth it to me.

I have done tons of research on this build but I still have a couple questions that I can't get answers for.

My theoretical built is:

• Intel i7 3960 chip
  • Intel D X79SR MOBO
  • NZXT phantom full tower case
  • Corsair H 100 cooler
  • 64 GB Crucial 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model CT102464BA1339
  • Antec HCP Platinum HCP-1000 1000W ATX12V V2.32 / EPS12V V2.92 Power Supply
  • XFX Double D FX797GTDFC Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition Video
  • LG 24X DVD/RW
  • Storage
    • Intel 520 Series Cherryville SSDSC2CW480A3K5 2.5" 480GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) Boot & Program Drive
    • (Two) Intel 520 Series Cherryville SSDSC2CW180A3K5 2.5" 180GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) (one) for Photoshop File save and (one) for Photoshop scratch drive (completed filed will be moved into storge.
    • (4) Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive [RAID 5]
  • Windows 7 Pro

I am okay with the Seagate drives running at 3 GB; even though I would have preferred 6 GB and have looked into an Adaptec controller. But I don't think their six series 6805 will work with the X 79 chipset partly because of uFCI. I may wait to see what their seven series is compatible with when it's released later this month. I have trouble spending almost $700 on a controller just to get all the drives running at a theoretical 6 GB spin rate.