Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CBarn4
Beginner
904 Views

When I delete and then create a new partition in the same space how does controller know to erase all the blocks with data remaining from before the new partition was created?

Jump to solution

This is not an issue I am struggling with, but just a question about how my SSD works. Does an SSD controller do a secure erase when a partition is created and formatted (quick format)?

Scenario: (Windows 10 Pro on a personal computer, 128GB SSD) Suppose I have an SSD which has been initialized and I have been running an OS and apps on it. I decide to reinstall and choose to delete the partition and create a new one in its place before I reinstall. Assuming " old data" remains in the NAND cells until GC, what does the controller do (or not do) when I reallocate the space by re-initializing it?

 

Obviously an HDD controller would simply use the space for new writes as needed because magnetic media works that way. But what about SSDs at the time a new partition is created?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
ASouz7
Honored Contributor II
63 Views

CBarnhorst,

NAND flash media can not be directly deleted if you just use quick format. Any old data will be handled by the controller through garbage collection or when TRIM is run manually or by the OS.

If your intention is to bring the drive to a factory state before installing the OS, then the best option is to perform a secure erase and this can be done either on a secondary drive using our SSD Toolbox found here: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/18455 Download Intel® Solid-State Drive Toolbox or using third-party tools mentioned in this advisory: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/software/000006198.html When You Run a Low-Level Format on Intel® Solid State Drives for... Please let us know if you need any more assistance.

View solution in original post

1 Reply
ASouz7
Honored Contributor II
64 Views

CBarnhorst,

NAND flash media can not be directly deleted if you just use quick format. Any old data will be handled by the controller through garbage collection or when TRIM is run manually or by the OS.

If your intention is to bring the drive to a factory state before installing the OS, then the best option is to perform a secure erase and this can be done either on a secondary drive using our SSD Toolbox found here: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/18455 Download Intel® Solid-State Drive Toolbox or using third-party tools mentioned in this advisory: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/software/000006198.html When You Run a Low-Level Format on Intel® Solid State Drives for... Please let us know if you need any more assistance.

View solution in original post

Reply