cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

X25-M 80GB

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

This is a two-part thread, and any help is appreciated:

1) I am debating between getting the Intel X25-M 80GB SSD (model SSDSA2MH080G2C1) to put in my Asus UL80VT versus an OCZ Vertex. I am leaning towards the Intel due to the lower power consumption, even though OCZ has better read/write speeds (since I won't be adding new data to the SSD often to utilize the faster write speeds). Any thoughts?

2) Because I am a novice to SSDs with moderate tech experience, what do I have to do once I get the drive to optimize it to work with my notebook? I plan to use it only as a boot drive and for apps/games while using an external HDD to store media, so upkeep on the SSD should be pretty easy as long as I can learn how to maintain it properly...

My goal in upgrading to the SSD is to increase battery life even more and to reduce boot and app/game start times.

Thank you in advance!

Brandon

Specs: