cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbie: Should i buy one or two ssd

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Hey I have been reading about Intel x25-m ssd, and about the new RST driver.

1. Buy 1 ssd or 2 with raid0? Or get 1 now and 1 in the future?

2. Can i even run with the new RST driver? I have a mobo gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3 with chipset p35 hope this is useful if not just leave a comment...

3. TRIM support for raid0? hmm right now i think there is...but if im wrong plz leave a comment

4. Should i buy windows 7 instead of my vista. Because of windows7 trim support.

Im pretty new to raid confirguration, so any help will be great

Im sry for my bad english, and if this is already been writing in the forums im sry but I am a bit confused

4 REPLIES 4

MBall5
Contributor

I would like to let you know that the trim command will not work if you use raid, this is a hardware limitation; I might need more information regarding the "RST driver".

Windows 7 support is capable of handling TRIM natively so this is a good step in your configuration if you are planning to use an SSD.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Adding to Mauriceb's reply, Intel has indicated intention to support TRIM for SSD RAID, but it's not clear when that will come. New RST version 10 drivers are promising (available on the Internet, but not officially released yet). Early reports indicate significant performance improvement on SSD RAID arrays that are "seasoned" (very few or no remaining blocks of memory that haven't been written to and erased at least once). This is a sign that RST 10 might support TRIM. Lots of good info on this at a new site dedicated to SSD: http://thessdreview.com/ The SSD Review