Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7368 Discussions

AC-7265 or Its Drivers Do Not Allow Bluetooth Mouse to Wake Computer

PSmit10
Beginner

I have an HP Envy laptop with the Intel AC-7265 wireless adapter built in. The OS is Windows 10, 64-bit, latest version (1803).

With the latest driver available on the OEM (HP) website, which is 20.20.0.5, it is impossible for a Bluetooth mouse to wake the computer from sleep. As you can see below, under Device Manager I can disallow the computer from shutting off the Wireless Bluetooth to save energy, but I cannot allow the device to wake the computer, as that option is greyed out. I am no expert, but I presume this may be a driver issue.

Would any of the newer drivers available on the Intel website resolve this problem? Is there a reason that the newer drivers are not available through the computer manufacturer's website, such some form of incompatibility?

Any advice and assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello Samurai-73,

Thanks for posting in the communities, we will be glad to help you resolve this issue. As we understand, the option to "Allow this device to wake the computer" is grayed out for the Bluetooth* component of your Wireless adapter. There may be different reasons for this behavior, driver issues being one of them. As you suggested, since this is an HP computer, we strongly recommend engaging them for support and drivers. Your https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/topics/OEMs.html computer manufacturer can customize drivers and software to enable or alter features, or provide improved operation on your computer.

As first step, you can try a clean installation of our generic version of the Bluetooth® driver: