Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7429 Discussions

AX200NGW Wifi Extremely slow

BenS1
Beginner

I've got a very strange problem that I've been battling with for a couple of months now.

I have a new Lenovo laptop that using an Intel AX200NGW card for Wifi, and I'm trying to use it with my BT Internet Router (Home Hub 5), however for some reason the Wifi connection is extremely slow.

All my other devices (Including my other different Lenovo laptops) get a download speed of around 36Mb/s and upload speed of around 6Mb/s, and a ping time of 11ms (To the test server), but this particular laptop gets a download speed of around 1Mb/s and up of 0.1Mb/s or less and a ping that often exceeds 1500ms. In fact even pinging the router itself from the laptop can result in pings between 500ms and 3000ms (As opposed to the expected 3ms or so).

I've checked physical positioning by swapping laptop locations and it hasn't made any difference. Note that the laptop is about 1.8m from the router with direct line of sight.

All drivers have been updated to the latest version, so it's not that either.

I'm now on my 3rd new router and that hasn't helped, so it's not a faulty router.

I've checked that the AX200 card is seated correctly and that the Wifi antenna are properly connected, which they appear to be.

One other thing I have noticed is that when I use the new laptop it can sometimes take down my whole wifi (i.e. all devices lose their connection, so I have to reboot the router.). 

My initial thoughts were that the laptop Wifi is just faulty, however I just tried one last experiment which yielded some very interesting results. I enabled Mobile Hotspot on my cell phone (and turned Mobile Data off) and connected the laptop to the phones Wifi, and the phone was then connected to my router. When connected like this I get full Wifi speed on the laptop!