Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7428 Discussions

Dual Band Wireless-AC 8260 and AC-8265 resetting

KMD
Beginner

Hello.

I work in a school and we have hundreds of Intel AC-8265 and

8260's, on Windows 10 Enterprise laptops, with various driver versions, resetting themselves a couple of times everyday. They are in Lenovo Yoga x260, x370 and x380's. We also have a Dell Latitude 7370, Windows 10 Pro v.1709, with the same card. They all experience the same issue. We have about a dozen Lenovo Yoga 11e laptops with the Intel AC-9260, and they do not experience the resetting.

On one of my test laptops, I performed a clean install of

Windows 10 1809, removed the old driver and removed the Proset software, updated the driver and the card still resets. It seems to be when there is peak network activity.

Please find the attached msinfo.txt and ssu reports of the laptop with the clean Windows 10 Ent. install.

Thank you

0 Kudos
14 Replies
n_scott_pearson
Super User

You need to consider the Bluetooth and Wireless driver packages as being a set. Try this: with Internet access disabled, uninstall the existing Bluetooth and Wireless driver packages, reboot, and then install the latest packages (Bluetooth before Wireless).

Hope this helps,

...S

0 Kudos
KMD
Beginner

Thank you for the input. Unfortunately, it didn't resolve my issue. The laptop on which I applied the latest BT and WLan drivers still reset itself, along with the many others that didn't update the drivers. It seems to be when classes first begin. Surge of traffic?

I ran wireshark on a laptop, and it showed nothing out of the ordinary prior to the card resetting.