Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7431 Discussions

Extremely slow wifi when game starts

slazernomad
Beginner

Strange things happening with my laptop. I use it near the 5 hhz router, but several times for a day when I run "hot" game like COD Warzone my laptop wifi starts to glitch. It's speed becomes about 1 mbps instead of 100.
I tried everything. I checked my bios, I updated drivers, uninstalled them. I removed every killer driver or service. I founds some related topics in internet, so I used killer remove software, blocked windows driver update and restricted to install any rivet/killer software. Then I used clean intel ax201 driver since it's the same as killer ax1650i.

I suppose you will suggest me to check the router. I already did. All other devices works fine. They have full operators 100 mbps speed. Only my laptop has 1 mbps and this is definitely happens after I run a game, I'm a tech guy so I checked every router setting. It does not have QOS or any other services to cut the speed. BUT!!! The strange thing is that if I reboot my router , the issue fixed for some time. But then later it happens again.
So the steps: I have speed 100 mbps, everything is fine. Then I run warzone and after few minutes I get a high ping and test shows 1 mbps speed. If I close game speed raises a bit but it's just about 10 mpbs. Laptop reboot does not help. Only router reboot. I believe it's some driver issue, but I tried everything. Also I tried different routers. I red few articles about killer software issues that causes things like this, but I removed everything . I even tried to install windows 11. I hope you can help me.  BTW I didn't have this issue during a year with this laptop and this router. Router settings are the same, it's just a 5 hhz repeater(tried other routers with 5 hhz as well).