Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7368 Discussions

Intel Dual-band 7265 Cannot connect to 5Ghz

SChan129
Novice

So My laptop is ASUS ROG GL553VD, bought from my country, Indonesia.

I am now studying abroad in Japan, and the university has 5Ghz wireless band for the wifi.

But everytime I see the properties, my laptop always connects to 2.4Ghz bands, and it is very limited and slow.. Here is what I already tried

1. Download the latest intelwirelesspro driver AND bluetooth driver from intel
  2. Uninstalling the intelwirelesspro
  3. Uninstall wifi driver
  4. Uninstall bluetooth driver
  5. clean temporary files
  6. reboot computer
  7. and install the newest driver from step 1

I also have chose "Prefer 5Ghz band" in device manager of Intel 7265.

Please, I cannot understand why this happens. my friends' laptops are doing fine and can connect to the 5Ghz, and so does my smartphone.

I also attach the Intel Support System Utility report file for you to check.

Thank you

16 Replies
LeonWaksman
Super User
  1. You should download your driver from vendor site rather than from Intel. In most cases the Intel drivers are customized by vendor : https://www.asus.com/Laptops/ROG-GL553VD/HelpDesk_Download/
  2. Please update your bios. Version 308 was released: https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/GL553VD/GL553VDAS308.zip
  3. Your Bluetooth is not working? Before installing the Wireless Driver downloaded from Asus, install the Bluetooth driver.

Leon

0 Kudos
SChan129
Novice

Thanks for replying!

My bluetooth is working fine, it's just I saw from other posts that he reccomended to re-install the bluetooth driver as well.

So, at the time I submit that report, my bluetooth is doing fine.

I already upgraded my BIOS and install the intel 7265 driver, but it still will not detect 5Ghz....

0 Kudos
Wanner_G_Intel

Hello SChan129,