Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7365 Discussions

KDE Neon Linux Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (Gig+) m.2 wireless card not working

Randyb
Beginner

I have and AMD X570 mobo, AMD 5600X CPU, an installed Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (Gig+) m.2 wireless card, and the KDE neon-user-20210211-0944 distribution. Kernel is 5.4.0-65-generic. Wired ethernet works, and the wireless card also works on Win10, but wireless does not work on linux/neon.

I did:

% sudo apt install backport-iwlwifi-dkms
... and...
% git clone https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/iwlwifi/backport-iwlwifi.git
.... and put the .ucode files in /lib/firmware

I'm no expert on this stuff, but the outputs below make me suspect that the driver/module is looking for a firmware version that I don't have (and cannot find), see below:

% sudo lshw -C network
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: I211 Gigabit Network Connection
vendor: Intel Corporation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=igb driverversion=5.6.0-k duplex=full firmware=0. 4-1 ip=192.168.1.18 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=1Gbit/s
resources: irq:37 memory:fc600000-fc61ffff ioport:f000(size=32) memory:fc620000-fc623ff

% sudo lspci -nnk | grep -i intel
05:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation I211 Gigabit Network Connection [8086:1539] (rev 03)
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel

(ie. wired interface is present *but not* wireless)

% modinfo iwlwifi | grep iwlwifi-cc
firmware: iwlwifi-cc-a0-63.ucode

% ls /lib/firmware | grep iwlwifi-cc
iwlwifi-cc-a0-46.ucode
iwlwifi-cc-a0-48.ucode
iwlwifi-cc-a0-50.ucode
iwlwifi-cc-a0-53.ucode
iwlwifi-cc-a0-55.ucode
iwlwifi-cc-a0-59.ucode

(iwlwifi-cc microcode is in /lib/firmware as versions up to 59, but not version 63)

% journalctl | grep iwl