Developing Games on Intel Graphics
If you are gaming on graphics integrated in your Intel Processor, this is the place for you! Find answers to your questions or post your issues with PC games
492 Discussions

Memory leaks on Intel Iris Xe graphics

wnsoft
Beginner

Hi,

I'm a software developer.

We found memory leaks (CPU memory and GPU memory) on Intel Iris Xe graphics in Core i7-12700H laptop (integrated graphics) in DX11 app under Windows 11.

How to reproduce:

1. Create DX11 texture (any pixel format) 2048 x 2048.

2. Call ID3D11DeviceContext::UpdateSubresource() for a rect 1920 x 1080

3. Call ID3D11DeviceContext::UpdateSubresource() for a larger rect - 1928 x 1088 (we update a larger part of this texture).

4. Repeat step 3 many times (updating of a video texture).

Every update for a texture Intel drivers cause memory leak (1920 x 1080 x 4 bytes).

Drivers version: 31.0.101.3358 (4 Aug 2022). Windows Update center says that it's the latest drivers for Windows 11.

The same problem was reproduced on 13-gen Core CPU with integrated graphics.

This issue doesn't appear on old Intel drivers (I tested with Intel HD 5300 graphics).

NVIDIA and AMD graphics work correctly - no memory leaks.

You can check this memory leak with our product. Old version 11.0.12:
https://files.wnsoft.com/test/tmp/pteavstudio-setup-IntelMemLeak.exe

Install a trial version, add a MP4 video file (H.264) and click the play button to watch a preview in the main window. For 1920 x 1080 60p video memory leak about 8 GB after 30 seconds of a video playback.

We found a workaround and will publish the updated version soon. In this future version we recreate a texture if we need to update a larger rect in a texture.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
RamyerM_Intel

Hello wnsoft,