FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6343 Discussions

Intel Arria 10 with dual-rank UDIMM EMIF

ushermark
Novice

Hello.

I am a newbie in developing software for Intel Arria 10 FPGA. I have a PCB with installed FPGA and trying to use EMIF.

Unfortunately, I got an error on calibration stage. After some timing fixes using RAM chip datasheet, I got a passed Write Leveling stage, but fails on Read Per-bit Deskew (see attached screenshots).

For this specific project, I need to use DDR4 2400MHz UDIMM 2Rx8 Non-ECC memory. Does Arria 10 support such type of memories? For some reason, I haven't found any example design for UDIMM 2-rank memory to compare settings and timings.

Quartus Prime version - 21.1.0 Build 169 Pro Edition.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
AdzimZM_Intel
Employee

Hello Mark,

I have attached the example design in .qar file below. Please let me know if this design can fit into your board.
Please share the Report DDR as snapshot below after the compilation process.

timiingrepo.png

View solution in original post

12 Replies
AdzimZM_Intel
Employee

Hello Mark,

The Arria 10 device can support DDR4 memory device with UDIMM memory format , up to 2 DIMM per channel , up to 4 Rank topologies.

You can check the details with EMIF Spec Estimator in this link: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/programmable/support-resources/support-centers/emif-spec-estimator.html

I can help to check the EMIF IP configuration based on the memory device datasheet.

Can you share the memory device datasheet that you are using and also some snapshots of the EMIF IP?

Thanks & Regards,

Adzim

0 Kudos
ushermark
Novice

Hello.

Currently I am using the following memories:

Kingston KVR26N19D8/16 Samsung K4A8G085WE-BCWE 16 GB 2666 UDIMM 2Rx8 Non-ECC
SK hynix HMA82GU6AFR8N-UH SK hynix H5AN8G8NAFR-UHC 16 GB 2400 UDIMM 2Rx8 Non-ECC

Here are manuals from memory manufacturer: