FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6382 Discussions

What does the APPS core in PCIe Example Design Do

corestar
New Contributor I

This is my first attempt at using PCIe in a Cyclone V using Quartus 19.1 Lite. I'm using the Cyclone V SoC Development kit. I loaded the example design:

hip_cv_x1_g1_ast64_140.qar

to attempt to understand the Avalon streaming core. This example design, as well as all others I've looked at, creates an APPS core. But I can't find any documentation of any kind of what the APPS core does. It's sort of key. Some APP notes say to modify the APPS core for our app. How? Where is it? What does it do?

Appreciate any help.

pcie_qsys.jpg

0 Kudos
14 Replies
wchiah
Employee

Hi,

For further information about APPS you can refer document below

https://cdrdv2-public.intel.com/655090/ug-01110-1_5.pdf

at page 25/288 it mention how this root port BFM configures the DUT.

Regards,

Wincent_intel

0 Kudos
corestar
New Contributor I

Hello,

Yes, I had seen that. But I'm afraid it does not tell you how APPS works. Changing parameters in a "black box" APPS does not really help me to create my own system.

On page 17 it says APPS should have a altpcied_sv_hwtcl.v file associated with it, but I cannot find that anywhere in the install or online.

Thanks

0 Kudos
wchiah
Employee

Hi,

Can I understand more what you want to achieve ?

If i see the description the APPS is application for Avalon Streaming HIP.

Where for AVST detail , you may refer to guide below

https://www.intel.com/programmable/technical-pdfs/683524.pdf

Regards,

Wei Chuan

0 Kudos
corestar
New Contributor I

Hello @wchiah ,