Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28495 Discussions

(FORTRAN) ifort segfault, tried all usual tricks.

SounakBiswas
Beginner

Hi, 

My question was marked as spam before (hopefully incorrectly, so I try gain)

I am rather new to using Fortran, and have been rather stumped with a segfault. Compiles with gfortran , even with optimisations. Also compiles with ifort without optimisations, or without openmp. However multithreaded ifort with optimisations fail.  

I have already tried increasing OMP_STACKSIZE,  compiled with -warn all and -check all flags,
 payed special attention to interfaces and check arg_temp_created,  and fiddled around with the heap-arrays flag, to no avail.

Finally, i have shred down many modules and submodules into few lines in a single source file which serves as a minimum working example (MWE)  .  I have attached the file. I am losing my mind over this, would really appreciate any help. 

I apologise if this is not the correct forum

compiler version
ifort --version returns: ifort (IFORT) 2021.10.0 20230609

mwe description (main.f90)

Basically, the mwe has an array from the main program passed to an intermediate subroutine subrt_interm, which passes the array along to another function which returns a complex number.
Fiddling around with some harmless loops and the solitary write(*,*) statement makes the segfault disappear sometimes, even though the valgrind warnings of 'invalid read' and 'invalid access' remain.  It seems that changing assumed shape arrays to ones with explicit dimensions solves the problem. 

compile flags

ifort -o ALF.out -std08 -cpp -O3 -fp-model fast=2 -xHost -unroll -finline-functions -ipo -ip -heap-arrays 1024 -no-wrap-margin -g -parallel -qopenmp main.F90

output

on running the code, this is what I get

forrtl: severe (174): SIGSEGV, segmentation fault occurred
Image PC Routine Line Source