Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16682 Discussions

SignalTapII doesn't trigger anything!!!

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello,  

I'm a beginner in using QuartusII and i've got a problem with SignalTapII Analyzer. I create my SignalTap file, configure it and launch it. But during the analysis, nothing is trigerred!!  

I've used simple triggers, directly connected to switches on the board, but nothing happened. However, when i stop analysis i see the correct position of my switches... So it seems i've probe the correct signals. 

I've read altera's tutorial and book on SignalTap, but it didn't solve my problem. Moreover i tried different kind of compilations (incremental, classic). For each type i've defined triggers in post-fit/pre-synthesis list, in order to see if my problem is related to compilation. 

I really don't understand where's the problem,  

If anyone has an idea he's really welcome! 

Thank you,  

Yann.
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

operating SignalTap in freerun mode, with no trigger condition defined is good to see, if signals give reasonable values. However, if a signal is displayed and has transitions in freerun mode, there's no reason why it shouldn't also work as a trigger. 

Could it be, that you have overlooked an additional trigger condition, may be in a group? 

Or if you have a trigger condition from several signals, it must not necessarily be ever true. 

Regards, 

Frank
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

is it possible to post a screenshot of the setup tab of your signaltap ? 

Kind regards 

Gerd
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello,  

thank you for your answers. 

After lots of tests, i've found that it works only with one trigger... 

I don't know if it's normal or if it's due to my license.