Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16642 Discussions

help: where is "LE" or "LUT" component (or "how do I create my own components?")

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am a long time electronics designer and programmer who has managed to avoid FPGAs for a couple decades --- until now. I am designing a device with a small cyclone3 FPGA (EP3C5F256C8) and just started to create my design with Quartus2v71. 

I chose to begin with schematic entry rather than HDL. I chose to start with the CRC32 part of my overall FPGA design, because the rest is less self-contained (but will probably be easier). First I designed an algorithm, wrote a C program to confirm it produces the correct results, then spent quite a bit of time reorganizing it until I found a way to implement it efficiently in hardware (only 2 levels of logic [delay] per clock cycle). 

Having already read (okay, some reading, some skimming) the cyclone3 and quartus2 documentation, I drew my schematic partly with in terms of components I expected to find in quartus2. To my shock and horror, the component I assumed would be easiest to find and most certain to exist --- seems to NOT exist. Specifically, I refer to that component called LE (logic-element) or LUT (16x1 lookup table) or LAB (16 LEs). After searching through the Quartus2 design functions/megafunctions dozens of times, I *still* cannot find any of these components. I am still not certain whether it is I who is stupid or crazy, or the designers of these tools (which mostly appear well designed, so "it must be me"). Though I tried to find creative ways to create a LE or LAB, I failed. For example, I tried to create a LE/LAB by creating a 16x1 ROM - but quartus2 assigned an entire M9k to simulate one utterly straightforward LE!!! Brilliant!!! Just not sure whether this refers to me or quartus2.