Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.
1459 Discussions

Error with Intel SGX AESM causes computer to black screen after long time of hibernation

Guillermob13
Beginner

Hello Everyone,

I am not a computer expert, and I have been having this problem for a couple of months now with my Lenovo IdeaPad Flex 5. Every now and then, after the computer has been "hibernating" for a long period of time, when I open the laptop, I am welcomed with a black screen with nothing on it, I am not able to do anything to get pass it, except by hard turning off by holding the power button. After this, as expected, it turns on normally however given that it was a hard shut off, it closes everything that was open before hibernating. 

When I go to the event viewer to check what logs windows is creating I am welcomed with these two error mesages, 

A timeout was reached (30000 milliseconds) while waiting for the Intel® SGX AESM service to connect.

The Intel® SGX AESM service failed to start due to the following error:
The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.

These events occured in sequence from top to bottom.

I have not been able to find anyone that has had a similar error before, I would appreciate if someone could help me with this!

I have Windows 11 Home Version 22H2 installed. 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Aznie_Intel

Hi Guillermob13,

Thanks for reaching out.

Are you using the Intel® SGX AESM app service? If not, I would recommend to uninstall the SGX and see if the error persists.

Device Manager -> System Devices -> Intel(R) Software Guard Extensions Device

Device Manager -> Software Components -> Intel(R) Software Guard Extensions Software

Our hardware might be different, but in general you can view the SGX devices/software in your Device Manager.