Intel vPro® Platform
Intel Manageability Forum for Intel® EMA, AMT, SCS & Manageability Commander
2827 Discussions

Slow network speed when using IDE redirection on CD and no terminal prompt when booting into Windows 7 via SOL.

CSwin
Beginner

Hi,

I'm pretty new to using and understanding the benefits of the vPro and AMT MEBx, so have just started to utilise some of these abilities and the demonstration manage tools in the developers centrer (such as Intel® vPro™ Platform Solution Manager and the Open MDTK).

However, I have come across 2 issue:

1. In the main, I am looking to be able to remote access a machine in order that I can re-image it. We use Ghost but cannot utilise PXE, however, the remote IDE redirection to a CD ISO image would be perfect. I can get the remote machine to boot fine from the redirected ISO, however, once the machine has booted into the Ghost WinPE environment and initiate the image trasfer (reading or writing), the transfer speed is PAINFULLY slow. What I mean by this is it lumbers along at around 60MB/s rather than 700+ MB/s. If I start the boot process from a read CD or USB drive, the trasfer rates are normal. This means that the image process take around 8 hours to complete rather than 40 mins.
  2. When I boot into the Ghost WinPE client on the remote machine, I can connect to the machine using SOL and I can get to to the SAC prompt, and from there I can get to the command prompt of the remote machine. However, when I connect using SOL to Windows 7 running on the same machine I get nothing. The Intel Management Drivers are installed on the Windows 7 OS and SOL driver is installed. What am I doing wrong?

Many thanks for any help

Chris

0 Kudos
15 Replies
CSwin
Beginner