Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12606 Discussions

Booting from offboard CFI directly connected to FPGA

Aflop
Beginner

Hello, 

I am new to FPGA's and have been handed an assignment which I am not sure is possible.

I have a Cyclone 10 GX Development Kit which must get configured with a NIOS and booted with application code from CFI memory which is connected to the Cyclone 10 via the FMC.

I have been following:

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/support/us/en/programmable/support-resources/fpga-wiki/asset03/nios-ii-processor-booting-from-cfi-flash.pdf     

BUT the document describes a scenario where the CFI is connected to the CPLD which is not my situation. I am not sure how to proceed after page 16 when I need to instantiate a PFL on the the dev kits Max 10. The PFL inputs and outputs require pins which are located on the Cyclone which confuses me.

1.) Is my current plan of action feasible? If so, how do I wire the PFL such that it flashes the CFI with the correct data?

2.) If this plan is not feasible are there any alternatives, given the limitation that the Cyclone 10 must boot from offboard memory?

Thank you  

0 Kudos
1 Solution
FvM
Valued Contributor III

Hi,
both AS and PP configuration interface are using dedicated FPGA pins and can't be replicated on other pins. That's because the specific function is built-in to the FPGA, working before any user code has been loaded. NIOS boot is controlled by HDL code and can basically use any memory interface.

While AS configuration is performed autonomously by FPGA, PP needs an external controller, usually MAX V CPLD. Configuration data is presented to FPP data lines (either 16 or 32, depending on the mode) and clocked in by DCLK.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Aflop
Beginner