Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12602 Discussions

Getting Nios to talk to on chip logic

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Total newbie question but what is the best way to get Nios to talk to custom on chip logic ? I'm setting up a special counter in logic that I'd like to have Nios control and read. Do I need to set up a custom connection in Qsys and use the Avalon interface or is there a more direct method ?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You need to access the logic via the avalon bus. 

I think you can use a generic 'pio' interface, but writing a avalon slave isn't that hard and will give greater flexibility (and probably remove some clock delays). 

Do make sure you generate a 32bit slave - even if you ignore the high bytes. 

Also the nios always asserts all 4 byte enables on reads.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Cobra, 

I struggled with the nomenclature ... Megafunctions vs Components. I am in the same situation as you and need to create a Avalon new Avalon component. 

In the QSYS , you can click on new under the library of components and that will allow you to generate a new component. There are some pre-defined interfaces. 

Also check out this http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/qts/qsys_components.pdf 

In I am still not sure how to add actual RTL to the component but believe in the case of an Avalon MM slave, possibly the same signals are used as the interface signals. 

Once you have created a new component ... it will show up as a component in your library section. 

Add the component to your desigh in QSYS and connect up all the signals ... it checks for this then 

Run generate in QSYS and the new RTL design will be in the Quartus system where you can synthesize it.