Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Neek - Uart

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

im just a newbie in FPGA programming  

just want to ask how to add a UART (rs232) into the hardware design. 

I already tried to add it on SOPC builder and generate  

and recompile it on quartus. 

unfortunately its not working.  

i am using a simple code transmitting a character (NEEK is connected on my PC using hyperterminal) 

i know my code is working because i tried it on a sample design with a built in UART. 

I hope you can help me and tell me what did i miss or something wrong on my process. 

#ifdef AVALON_UART# else // set line control reg to allow writing to baud divisor IOWR_8DIRECT (UART_BASE, 3, 0x80); // baud divisor = (clk) div (baud) div (16) // 50M/115200/16 = 27.127 = 0x001B // 30M/115200/16 = 16.276 = 0x0010 // 30M/9300/16 = 195 IOWR_8DIRECT (UART_BASE, 1, 0x00); // baud div hi IOWR_8DIRECT (UART_BASE, 0, 16); // baud div lo // set line control reg for 8 n IOWR_8DIRECT (UART_BASE, 3, 0x03);# endif { int x=0; char msg = 'A'; FILE* fp; fp = fopen ("/dev/uart", "w"); for(;;) { printf("waiting for input: \n"); scanf("%d",&x); if (fp == NULL) { printf("cant access file"); } if (x==1 & fp!=NULL) { printf("character sent\n"); fprintf(fp, "msg"); fclose (fp); } x=0; } return 0; } 

the software successfully compiled so i think there is no problem on that part (i've checked already the file path for uart and UART BASE name on system.h)
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Did you connect the uart ports from the sopc component to the fpga pins in your design?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

is it the assignment on pin planner? 

i tried to assign pins on pin planner by assigning HC_UART_RXD to E18 and HC_UART_TXD to H17.