Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20793 Discussions

Intel Open FPGA stack

h3l1um
Beginner

Hey all,
I am a beginner in FPGA development and I have never used Quartus before. I'll be building on the N6000-PL card from Intel which does not have any image preinstalled, so I have to use the Intel OFS repo to compile the project and then build the AFU for the card.
Does the Intel OFS need a Linux based system to be compiled?
What are the steps i need to follow if i am to do it in Windows?
Thank you for the help.

Labels (1)
1 Solution
khtan
Employee

Hello,

Yes, you will need Linux based system to compile Intel OFS package.

Unfortunately we don't have any compilation script(eg. OFS - dfl, opae) that supports Windows. Most of the FPGA development tools are solely based on Linux systems. Quartus is available on Windows & Linux though.

Thanks

Regards

Kian

View solution in original post

6 Replies
khtan
Employee

Hello,

Yes, you will need Linux based system to compile Intel OFS package.

Unfortunately we don't have any compilation script(eg. OFS - dfl, opae) that supports Windows. Most of the FPGA development tools are solely based on Linux systems. Quartus is available on Windows & Linux though.

Thanks

Regards

Kian

Beginner_in_FPGA
New Contributor I

Hey,

I started compiling the Open FPGA stack for the N6000 card.
I am not able to compile the project, here is the exact steps i followed.

I want to know if i can compile the project without using any AFU of my own, because i didnt write any RTL yet.

Below is the attached terminal window commands that i used.

khtan
Employee

Hi,

May I know what version of linux(and distribution, eg CentOs, Ubuntu etc) and ofs-fim (+the user guide) that you're using ?

Not sure whether you have access to this user guide : https://github.com/otcshare/intel-ofs-docs/blob/main/n600x/user_guides/ofs_getting_started/ug_qs_ofs_n600x_beta3.md