Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

Move data from NIOS to hardware and then back to NIOS

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am trying to do a little calculation in hardware but I'm stuck on how to get started. I'm a complete newbie, but after reading a lot of manuals and demos, I figured out that I could have a soft processor NIOS that could accept C code. So using a basic computer configuration of the the DE2 (it comes with the University Program), I then created a NIOS BSP project. After trying many times, I managed to get everything compiled and the code below to run on the target hardware. 

void main(void)  

int line1[] = {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7}; 

int line2[] = {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7}; 

//--- Do this in verilog!  

int i; 

int store_val = 0; 

for(i=0; i<7; i++) 

store_val = store_val + (line1*line2); 

//--- verilog_end 

Now the next step is that I want to do the calculation in the for-loop section in hardware using verilog rather than C. I have three main queries: 

1) How to write that for-loop function in verilog? 

2) Where do I save the verilog module? 

3) When I have the verilog equivalent, how do I move the values contained in the two C arrays to the verilog module to do the calculation and then send back 'store_val' to the BSP project? I read about DMA in other posts but I don't know how to do that process.  

This is confusing me. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i havent used a for loop in verilog before but this link shows you how to 

http://www.asic-world.com/verilog/verilog_one_day2.html 

you have to save your verilog module in the same project that you created your processor. after that you can right click on that file in the files tab and select 'create symbol for this file'