Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20782 Discussions

Quartus II simulation: missing max3000a_ver and output pin stuck at ground

Niko3
New Contributor I

Hi, I am a beginner with Quartus.

I use Quartus II 13.0sp1 because I want to use a chip from MAX3000A family. Later versions don't support MAX3000A.

To start with a simple design I tested the following circuit (simpleTest.png):

Niko3_0-1684160553073.png

Compilation is ok, but functional simulation with the waveform editor causes two problems.

1) Simulation reports following errors:

• Error: (vsim-19) Failed to access library 'max3000a_ver' at "max3000a_ver"
  • Error: (vsim-3033) myTest.vo(76): Instantiation of 'max_mcell' failed. The design unit was not found
  •  When I assign a chip from MAX V family, compile and then run functional simulation, there are no such errors, but a second problem comes up.

• 2) I expected a result like this (waveform_need.png):
  •  
  • Niko3_1-1684161365403.png

but I get a result like this (waveform_sim.png):

Niko3_3-1684161432052.png

and the compiler message "Warning (13410): Pin "rsPulse" is stuck at GND"

With another simulation tool (logisim) I get the pulses on rsPulse. In my final circuit they are needed together with further logic to asynchronously clear a counter. These pulses shall rise at the falling edge of CLK. The pulse width may be larger than shown in the diagram above but it shall be somewhat smaller than the low state of CLK.

When functional simulation with a MAX V family is ok then I guess that it would also be ok with MAX3000A. If so then problem 1 no longer exists. If not where can I get 'max3000a_ver' from?

What is wrong with my circuit, problem 2?

If needed the three pictures are attached.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
FvM
Valued Contributor III
Hello,