Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20754 Discussions

Simple issue of Production Serialization

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am new to FPGAs, my background is microcontrollers. This seems like it should be an easy question, but I can't seem to find any information on it. 

What is the best way to serialize an FPGA for high volume production? 

With microcontrollers, I would, at the time of programming, have the program house write a unique 4-byte number either to flash program memory space or to EEPROM and on boot-up, I would read this register and respond to communication messages with this unique 4-byte ID. I would think for an FPGA , one would do the same thing by writing to a location in the ROM used to house the FPGA program and at boot-up, the FPGA would read that memory location and use that value as a unique ID. However, I was just told by a commonly used programming house that they have NEVER had a request to have an FPGA ROM serialized. I'm still trying to get an answer from them, but I'm hoping someone here could point me in the right direction. 

So again, what is the best way to serialize an FPGA for high volume production? 

Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The terminology you are using doesn't make sense here. "Serialization of FPGAs" could mean a lot of things. I think what you are trying to do is attach a unique ID of some kind to each FPGA or each board.  

Presumably you've got some flash part that you are using to store the FPGA image that is loaded on bootup. Could you not just write a value into that flash. You could also add an eeprom to the board which you program with the unique ID during production which can then be read by the FPGA.