Server Products
Data Center Products including boards, integrated systems, Intel® Xeon® Processors, RAID Storage, and Intel® Xeon® Processors
4778 Discussions

Help: Correct Computer Parts Choices!

idata
Employee

Hello Intel Community! This is my first time posting, so excuse me if it is in the wrong "section".

I am attempting to run a few large gaming servers (the game is called "Minecraft"). I would be running 3 servers in the beginning (8GB, 4GB, 1GB), but in the future, I plan to add another.

I need a processor that can handle this, and a motherboard that is compatible. I know almost nothing about the hardware side of computers! Please advise me which parts to get. I don't really have a set budget, but I don't want to pay a ton for the processor (although I know I will end up doing so). My budget is about $1100, but this includes the graphic cards, case, RAM, everything.

Any help is really appreciated! If you could give me a processor and a compatible motherboard, that would be fine, but if you feel like writing out a list of other parts (graphic card, etc.) that is compatible, that is amazing!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Reply
idata
Employee

Ahh, Minecraft .

I run a server at home for my two kids (and me if I get the time) and have now opened it up to a few of my older sons friends. It does not get heavily loaded but there are a few things to watch out for.

You really need to work out how many users you are looking to host per server in order to calculate the amount of ram and disk space you will need. Without that information it is very hard to work out resource requirements and offer suggestions which will do for now but give scope to upgrade if your requirements change in the future.

A few points to remember hardware wise;

• Servers do not require decent video cards in order to host Minecraft. A motherboard or processor video chipset will do fine.
  • Ram is good, more ram is better (within reason).