cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Some Guidance For SSD

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in this community and a noob in the area of SSD.

I'm using a Mac desktop, using OSX and bootcamp Windows 7 and recently bought a X25M G2 160GB and has yet to install in my system. I read quite a few articles on the issues of SSD and I'm confused by some of them. Thus, I need some guidance here so as not to mess up the setup of the SSD.

1) Install the SSD in the system, run the bootable CD to update the firmware, format the SSD and install the OSes. Is my setup sequence correct? OR install the OSes and follow by firmware update?

2) Is it better to install the OSes on the SSD and rest of the apps such as MS Office, Adobe softwares and save my docs to another mechanical hard disk for longer working life of the SSD?

3) Since TRIM function works only in NTFS; in this case windows 7, will it mess up the entire SSD which include the Mac OS partition? In fact, I'm quite confused when I read that TRIM is not required in Windows 7 as the OS will TRIM the SSD automatically; while some other sites indicate that TRIM should be executed on a weekly basis to prolong the SSD. Any enlightenment on this?

4) In the event if I need to reformat the SSD in the future, can I use the quick format function to wipe it clean or it is a must to use HDerase?

I appreciate your sharing.

2 REPLIES 2

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

1. The firmware you can instal later, will not erase your data.

2. Is no need to keep your files and apps separately. Only movies or iso images etc.

3. The Trim function is only in windows 7 and will work in AHCI mode (bios) with msahci driver only. NTFS or FAT32 doesn't matter. I don't now what about Mac OS.

4. Always use quick format.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

1. If the OS hasn't been installed, update any firmware first. It should also work after installing the OS.