cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are Windows 7 Users Running Toolbox Optimizer?

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Why are Windows 7 users running the toolbox optimizer when the readme file explicitly states that for win7 this is not needed. The only case for running the optimizer toobox for WIN 7 is if you are using the Intel Matrix Storage Manager 8.x driver or any driver that does not support the (TRIM) command:

The readme says page 13:

"If your PC uses Microsoft Window 7 and the standard Microsoft AHCI driver(the DEFAULT setup for nomral configurations without RAID), the Intel SSD Optimizer will work; however, you do not need to use the Intel SSD optimizer because Microsoft Windows 7 implments the ATA Data Set Management Command (TRIM) natively."

47 REPLIES 47

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

I am new to SSD and just bought a Intel 160GB. I am on Win7 and I confirmed that TRIM is not running on my laptop. I have been using the SSD for the past 2 weeks and I can see the performance getting slower when benchmarking using crystaldisk. I read the entire Intel discussion and concluded that the AHCI driver is the problem. A number of posts I have read mentioned that TRIM will function when its on the standard MS driver. Does it mean the driver that comes with Win7? I have 2 drivers listed for the controller, and . So the question is which driver must I use to make TRIM work? Thanks in advance.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

The only place I have "msahci.sys" is in "device manager->IDE/ATAPI controllers->Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller->Properties"

This is after windows 7 install with default drivers.

But someone else should confirm this, because in my setup win7 does not autotrim my ssd and I have to run the optimizer to get full speed.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

what is your proof that autotrim is not working on your SSD

idata
Esteemed Contributor III