Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7452 Discussions

Compatibility Network Interface Card (NIC)

Jurij_
Novice

Hello there,

I'm an engineering student and I'm trying to capture Channel State Information (CSI) from the WiFi signal. 

Now I have two questions.

1) I use both a Linux distribution as well as Windows on my laptop. My Linux system says that the used NIC is a AX1650 which is from the Intel® Killer™ Wi-Fi Series collection, but my Windows says that the used NIC is a AX201, which is from the Intel® Wi-Fi 6 Series collection. So my first question is "Why does a different operating system have different names for the NIC?"

2) During literature study I found that most papers use an IWL5300 NIC, because there are dedicated CSI extractors. (I know that Intel doesn't provide support on how to extract this data as said in this  thread). Now there is one CSI extractor for the AX201 (PicoScenes). Now, I just want to ask "How do I know if I can swap certain NICs without a problem. Are these NICs hardware specific, or driver specific?".

Thank you for you help.

0 Kudos
13 Replies
RamyerM_Intel

Hello Jurij_, 

To answer your question, please share with us the specific laptop model that is showing different WIFI components. For your second question, do you mean swapping or changing the wireless card in your laptop to an AX201 ? If not, please tell me more about the system wherein you are trying to swap out the wireless components.

Ramyer M. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 

0 Kudos
RamyerM_Intel

Hello Jurij_,

I am checking in with you regarding the details I requested in my last post. Please share them with us here so we can help you more effectively.

Ramyer M.

0 Kudos
Jurij_
Novice

Hey there Ramyer M,

Thanks for your answer.