oneAPI Registration, Download, Licensing and Installation
Support for Getting Started questions related to download, Installation and licensing for Intel oneAPI Toolkits and software development tools.

Intel GPU pytorch installation on Windows

TheRain_MA
Beginner

Dear developers and users,

Hello!

I followed the GPU-version pytorch installation procedure posted on Github, however, there are so many conflicts like "expected torch version can not be downloaded", "no torchvision GPU version for windows", or some other errors. 

I am not a professional computer science learner, so I wonder if someone could update the installation instructions, or if there is a day that everything will go into an easy way.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards,

MA

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RahulC_Intel

Hi Xibo, could you please share the below details for further investigation: 

• OS build on which you are installing the software  
  • Is the installer an online or an offline package?  
  • Version of Microsoft Visual Studio installed along with it's build version
  • Exact version of pytorch which you are installting in your system
  • Other versions of Intel® Parallel Studio XE or Intel® oneAPI already installed on the system   
  • Installation Log files.  
    • The default path for a log file for a oneAPI installation is: C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\logs  
    • The default path for a log file for a Parallel Studio XE installation is: %temp%\pset_tmp_PSXE<version>_<username> 

TheRain_MA
Beginner

Hello RahulC_Intel

Thank you for your quick respond!

Finally I successfully ran the .bat file under the guidance from [Installation Guide (Windows)], and I got three files named <intel-extension-for-pytorch> <pytorch> <vision>, but the packs might not be installed correctly. It showed that "ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'torch".

I rechecked the files, found that there was no <dist> folder in any of three files.

Could you please help me find the reason?