Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

fixed-point tips

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

I have some experience with Quartus, but in the past have only worked on projects that implement very basic boolean expressions (like generating pulses with user defined widths and delays). I have been asked to try and build a block that does some stuff rather more complicated than I am used to with real numbers... but of course the final block has to be synthesizable. Here is an example of a "phase diff block" that is needed. 

Inputs: 

I1, I2, Q1, Q2, A1, A2 (all 16-bit with values lying between -1 and +1) 

cMode (Boolean) 

kc (all 16-bit with values lying between 0 and +1) 

Outputs: 

Pd (16-bit with values lying between -1 and +1) 

LD (Boolean) 

The function to implement is something like: 

Pd = (I1 * Q2 - I2 * Q1) / (A1 * A2) 

ld = (1-kc) * ld + kc * (I1 * I2 + Q1 * Q2) / (A1 * A2) 

If cMode = '0' THEN LD = 0  

ELSIF ld > 0 THEN LD = 1 ELSE LD = 0 

To be honest I don't really know where to start with how to define the data types and the equation for Pd. Any tips most welcome. 

Many thanks, Kurt
0 Kudos
18 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Verilog or VHDL

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Oops, apologies... VHDL. 

I've made a little progress. I've written a little function that multiplies two 16 bit unsigned integers, which results in a 32-bit unsigned integer. The function then just drops the 16 LSBs which results in the scaled answer. So this works fine for unsigned inputs whose 'real' value is =< 1. I don't know how general this is for values > 1... probably not. For signed values I suppose just a little extra logic is needed to test the sign bit and derive the appropriate sign bit for the result.