Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16614 Discussions

SOPC - simple question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new here, so sorry for trivial questions:-) 

It's my first project in SOPC Builder (I use 5.1) and I'd like to add something very simple in order to learn how to use the tool.  

My VHDL code is simple counter from Altera site. But when I try to use Component editor, I see error: "slave must have a read or write interface, or support interrupts." I cannot add result signal. In signals tab there is only clock signal, which I set to type clk. 

I read tutorials, I finieshed it step by step but there was nothing about it. 

Here is code: 

LIBRARY ieee; 

USE ieee.std_logic_1164.ALL; 

ENTITY count IS 

PORT 

clock: IN STD_LOGIC; 

result: OUT integer RANGE 0 TO 31 

); 

END count; 

ARCHITECTURE rtl OF count IS 

SIGNAL result_reg : integer RANGE 0 TO 31; 

BEGIN 

PROCESS (clock) 

BEGIN 

IF (clock'event AND clock = '1') THEN 

result_reg <= result_reg + 1; 

END IF; 

END PROCESS; 

result <= result_reg; 

END rtl;  

Thank you for any help! 

Best regards, 

Koza
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new too, but I hope that my short experience can be useful for you. A component in SOPC builder is a module that talks with Nios core and with external modules or directly with the exterior of the FPGA. For this reason, It´s necessary that the new componet that you created has any relationship with the nios and a counter hasn´t it. Maybe you have to choose other example like a memory interface or rs-232, you can find it in www.opencore.org. 

Best regards
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II