Intel® High Level Design
Support for Intel® High Level Synthesis Compiler, DSP Builder, OneAPI for Intel® FPGAs, Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™
663 Discussions

oneAPI IP integration with Avalon Streaming input/output

DorianL
Novice

Hi i'm new with oneAPI and I want to create an IP to export in Quartus and i wanted to know how to have Avalon Streaming input and output for my kernel to treat images and more generaly how to create interfaces to communicate with other components with Avalon interface. I don't know how to make the difference between pipes/accessors/etc... Thank you !

8 Replies
BoonBengT_Intel

Hi @DorianL.

Thank you for posting in Intel community forum with the interest in Intel oneAPI and hope all is well.

Would like to understand further on your request, which devices are you working with? Also what are the oneAPI version that you are having?

Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Wishes

BB

0 Kudos
DorianL
Novice

Hi @BoonBengT_Intel ,

I'm working on simulation only for the moment, and my version of oneAPI is the latest so the 2024. I was just trying to understand how i could export IP from oneAPI to Quartus and the first thing i didn't understand was the connection interfaces with other IP, but I finally found an example on the Intel oneAPI Github to work on that. My goal is to produce IP with oneAPI that could be usefull in the futur in other projects, like image or audio processing.

The first thing is that I have an error each time i want to simulate a Kernel that include streaming interfaces, like Avalon_streaming. I can emulate but I can't simulate. The error come from the aoc_sim_generate_qsys.tcl and the function "add_component" that can't be executed thanks to the log file created during the compilation for simulation. Do you have an idea of what could be the issue ?

DorianL

0 Kudos
BoonBengT_Intel

Hi @DorianL,