Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12606 Discussions

target processor: not responding

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This is my first try with NIOS2 and the niosII_stratix_1s10_es eval. board. Compilation, cofiguration 

worked fine. I then invoke IDE and build Hello_world which gets downloaded to the board ok but 

then I get the message: 

Using cable "USB-Blaster [USB-0]", device 1, instance 0x00 

Pausing target processor: not responding. 

Resetting and trying again: FAILED 

Leaving target processor paused http://forum.niosforum.com/work2/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/sad.gif  

Can you help? Please help? I don&#39;t know where to start to look.
0 Kudos
17 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have the same problem, with the low-cost Cyclone development kit, with the ep1c12q240. 

It is also my first experience with the Altera development tools. 

The first few compilations the processor worked ok, but all subsequent compilations generate processors that apparently are dead (I kept the .sof file, and it still works - so it is not a hardware failure).  

I added a timer with the timeout pulse enabled, followed by a flip-flop and a led. It should blink if the processor is minimally working. In the first compilations the led blik as expected, and the "hello world" works ok. In later compilations the processor seems dead, and I get the same message as you. 

I suggest you do the same; if the led does not blink, we should have the same problem. 

I am using Quartus 4.2 sp1, build 178, and Nios 2.1.1.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I also encounted the trouble. 

Hope someone can answer the question. 

//bow http://forum.niosforum.com/work2/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/sad.gif
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div>