Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Python and FFMPEG on PHI??

Bob_A_
Beginner

I am new to parallel computing and wondered if running my Python app that calls FFMPEG to crunch edit videos would be a good fit for the 61 processors on PHI?

My developer friend made the app to be able to use all existing cores on a Windows machine which it seems to do very well.  It increases the throughput of the app by a factor of x times the number of cores.  But he said that better find a multi-core Windows computer with more cores if I want more performance because he has not implemented messaging to make it be really parallel.

The app builds video of words in a sentence word by word hence the ability to work on separate words in parallel and then at the end stitch all the video pieces together in a single thread.  The threads all look at the same source read only data so there are no collisions by working in parallel.  And the video pieces are very small till they are put all together.

Does what I describe sound like an opportunity for PHI?  I hope so because the job takes 5 days to run and with a PHI multiplier I can anticipate that the same job will run in 4 hours using the extra cores.

My questions are ...

1)  Will the Python code as I describe it have to be altered much or will it run as is and make use of the 61 extra helping hands?

2) Will memory be an issue?

3) Is there a way I can test the code out on a PHI before I buy or run it on a cloud some where?

Thanks!

Bob

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Bob_A_
Beginner

I guess from the silence... I should think that my application is not good for Xeon Phi?

Maybe, because memory??

0 Kudos
Frances_R_Intel
Employee

Sorry for the silence.

The answers to your questions, as best as I can determine (others may know better than I):