Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20713 Discussions

Help for Jtag Programming

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am completely new with my MAX II CPLD (and also a new engineer) and I want to use the Jtag interface with my 8051 microcontroller (without Jtag interface). I’m confused about what to do as the first step:  

- Fight directly programming my microcontroller  

or  

- Use the Jam Byte-Code Player (but the information to use it is not large at all). 

No one of these options is for me clear, can somebody help me to get started? Is there any simple sample for this comunications any where? 

Thank you in advance.
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am in the same situation. I chose to try and use the byte-code player, but I am getting an error (unrecognized device) when I attempt to run the program. 

Has anyone successfully ported the byte-code player program to an embedded processor? How can I verify that I am correctly sending the correct hardware signals?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There is an App Note that has some of the info that might be helpful to you: 

http://www.altera.com/literature/an/an111.pdf 

Hope this helps.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There is another App Note that is useful too: 

http://www.altera.com/literature/an/an122.pdf
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Do you mean that you want to program MAX II devices with MCU8051? If yes, till now no driver/player is available. The 8051 Bytecode Player doesn't support MAX II device since the JAM file format supported by 8051 Bytecode player is version 1.1, and MAX II devices are only supported in Quartus II which doesn't support to generate the JAM file 1.1.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are you sure the byte-code player only supports 1.1? Based on the code, it looks like it has support for JAM STAPL 2.0. The .jbc file I am trying to program is in the 2.0 format.