Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16613 Discussions

Handling Quartus executable return codes

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

First post... 

I'm very new to Quartus and the FPGA world so be gentle. 

I've written a script to perform each step of the build step by step using the executables... 

quartus_map -blabla 

quartus_fit -blabla 

quartus_asm -blabla 

quartus_sta -t atclscript.tcl 

What I need to put between the executables is a touch of code to look at the return codes and exit the rest of the script if necessary. 

Any suggestions gretfully received. 

Witty.
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

just wondering if you have tried quartus_sh --flow instead of running each individual binary.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

just wondering if you have tried quartus_sh --flow instead of running each individual binary. 

--- Quote End ---  

Yes I had considered using quartus_sh --flow but I thought I may have more control by executing them individually with the potential of passing a unique tcl script to each one. For instance I'm running quartus_sta with a unique tcl file that produces our custom timing reports. I thought this was the way to go. Thanks.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i see. interestingly the example end to end flow manually runs TAN reports after a full compilation on page 10: 

http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/qts/qts_qii52002.pdf 

how about something like: 

quartus_map myproj | grep -c unsuccessfulthe count of unsuccessful will be 0 if you can continue to the next stage and > 0 if not. 

not sure if internal errors will trigger "unsuccessful", i'll check.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II