Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

LPM rom

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi, im new in quartus and vhdl. im trying to use the rom from the megafunction for my project. can i store real number in the rom? or it has to be hex? if it has to be hex, is it hav to be the ieee hex format?

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

When you create the MIF (Memory initialization file) for the ROM, you will need to enter unsigned decimal numbers.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

thanks for the reply ! 

but if i have to use hex? is it the same? by the way, wats the different between hex and mif file?  

u mean unsigned decimal input...does that refer to integer only? what about real number with fraction??  

and the address to the rom..is it compulsory to be 16bit (4 hex)?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I tried creating a HEX file form Quartus II and it still says I need to use unsigned decimal numbers. You do not need to key in HEX for HEX file. You still use unsigned decimal. It has to be integer in this case. It's up to your design to interprete the fraction.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

thank you very much. 

but how do you create hex file with decimal number? i mean if hex i just do like: 

:03800000028100FA 

but if using decimal how? and if using decimal so the output of the rom shd be declared as integer? 

sorry for the trouble....
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

thank you very much. 

but how do you create hex file with decimal number? i mean if hex i just do like: 

:03800000028100FA 

but if using decimal how? and if using decimal so the output of the rom shd be declared as integer? 

sorry for the trouble.... 

--- Quote End ---  

.mif and .hex are simply different file formats used to store the initialization data. 

A mif file looks like this 

WIDTH=8; 

DEPTH=256; 

ADDRESS_RADIX=UNS; 

DATA_RADIX=UNS;